Book Review: The Power of Moments

The Power of Moments is a great book that explores why certain experiences have an outsized impact on us, and how to create more of them. Moments such as the following, that should be made exceptional.
• First day of work.
• Promotions. (When becoming a manager, should shadow an existing manager.)
• School “signing day”, for announcing what college students will attend.
• School Projects: High school students used English and History time to prepare a Trial of Humanity, in a real court room.
• Don’t worry about the potholes. (Low priority bugs?) Fill the pits, and build peaks.

The following are my notes from the book.
Reliability, dependability, and competence meet customer expectations. To exceed expectations and create a memorable experience you need the element of pleasant surprise.

There’s a chapter called “Trip over the Truth”
1. Clear insight
2. Compressed in time
3. Discovered by the audience itself
Examples include realizing you’re a jerk boss, and getting Bangladesh people to realize that open defecation is unhealthy. Best to convince people that the problem is real before your solution is raised. Realizing the problem is what sparks the sudden insight.

University of Virginia created a course design institute where they helped professors design their courses. They helped professors discover what their long term goals were for the course, and realized that their syllabus was bogged down in details that weren’t trying to meet their goals.

Mentors push mentees to stretch. Wise criticism is “I’m giving you these comments because I have very high expectations and I know you can reach them. So try this new challenge, and if you fail, I’ll help you recover.”

Multiply milestones
Identifying them:
1. What’s inherently motivating?
2. What would be worth celebrating (short term success)
3. What’s a hidden accomplishment that is worth surfacing and celebrating?

Connection
For a group to bond, take on a demanding task that’s deeply meaningful.
Consider asking about purpose and passion in interviews. Purpose is more important than passion.

Deepen Ties: when a school did parent home visits, the school turned around because they saw that the teachers cared.
Our relationships are stronger when we perceive that our partners are responsive to us.
Understanding: My partner knows how I see myself and what is important to me.
Validation: My partner respects who I am and what I want.
Caring: My partner takes active and supportive steps in helping me meet my needs.

This entry was posted in Books, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment